WORLD ROAD ASSOCIATION PRIZE AWARD PRESENTATION

MENNO HENNEVELD Chair of the International Jury Chair of the Communications and International Relations Commission

On behalf of the international jury of the World Road Association prize competition it is my pleasure to announce the winners for the 2011 competition.

Over 400 full papers were received from the international call for papers and the technical committees nominated almost 50 outstanding papers to be reviewed by the international jury. Nominations were also received from member countries who ran their own competition in parallel with the international competition.

The international jury, which included representatives from the eight sponsor countries, meet via live web-conferencing to assess the papers. I would like to thank the jury for their expertise and enthusiasm in undertaking this task.

So without further ado I would like to ask Madame President to join me in presenting these awards.

The **road maintenance and operation prize** is sponsored by the United States. This prize aims to promote outstanding policies and practices in the maintenance and operation of roads.

The winner of this category is Ms Lucy Wickham and Mr Paul Marsh from the United Kingdom for the paper titled "The Compliant Motorway".

The jury considered the comprehensive approach outlined in this paper illustrated excellence in the operational management of roads which could have broad application across the world.

Please join me in congratulating the winners.

The *Maurice Milne Medal* is awarded to the most innovative paper of the Congress. This long standing award aims to highlight innovation and excellence in the roads sector. The Maurice Milne Medal is sponsored by United Kingdom.

The Maurice Milne medal is awarded to the paper titled, "Use of heat-blocking pavement technology for mitigation of urban heat", from Japan.

This paper presents a truly innovative solution and a technology that is proven to improve the quality of the urban environment. The solar heat-blocking pavement technology that has been developed and evaluated in this paper represents the essence of innovation worthy of the Maurice Milne medal.

Authors of the paper from Japan are Mr Masahiko Iwama, Dr Tamotsu Yoshinaka, Dr Shinobu Omoto and Dr Nobuyuki Nemoto.

The next prize category is for a very important group of professionals and that is our **young professionals**. This prize aims to promote the professional excellence of young professionals. The author and any co-authors were required to be less than 30 years of age. This prize is sponsored by Canada-Quebec.

The winner of the Young professionals prize is the entry titled, "Main Roads Western Australia - Integrated Services Arrangements: an innovative approach to manage Western Australia's state road network", from Australia.

The jury considered that this entry presented an innovative solution to managing asset management, network operations and road maintenance services.

The jury believed this approach could have broad application for the road sector and believed the young professional demonstrated they key elements of the concept in an articulate and dynamic paper.

The author of the paper is Ms Maria Sarubin.

This next prize is also a very important prize and that is the prize awarded to a paper from a country with a *developing economy*.

This prize aims to promote research, programs or policies occurring in developing countries that have lead to improvements for road users and the broader community. Authors were required to be from countries of low income or lower-middle income economies according to the classification established by the World Bank in 2009. This prize is sponsored by Japan.

The winner of the Developing countries prize is the entry titled, "Role of bioengineering in mountain road maintenance: observations from Nepal", from Nepal.

The jury chose this paper for its resourceful approach to road maintenance through the use of bioengineering solutions to improve the roadside environment.

The author of the paper is Mr Indu Dhakal.

The **road design and construction** prize is sponsored by Belgium. The prize aims to promote professional excellence in scientific and technical fields relating to construction and road design with a special emphasis on innovative solutions or processes that aim to increase socio-economic returns.

The winner of the Road design and road construction prize is awarded to the paper titled, "The forever open road: defining the next generation road", from the UK, Austria, Germany and France.

The jury considered this nomination to be an outstanding paper that showed vision beyond current road design and construction principles.

Mr Lamb and Mr Collis from the UK, Mr Deix from Austria, Mrs Kriegar from Germany and Mr Hautiere from France are the authors of this paper.

The next prize is for *road safety* and aims to promote professional excellence in the field of road safety, and particularly in cost-effective investments, improved road design

concepts, intelligent vehicle and infrastructure technologies, and in human behaviour. This prize is sponsored by Australia & New Zealand.

The winner of the road safety prize is the paper titled, "Linear Settlements and Safety Issues along Highways in India: A Case for integrated approach for highway development", from India.

The jury believed that this paper eloquently describes the large and complex issues facing road users in India including the implications of linear settlements. These complex issues represent the many road safety challenges facing developing countries and provides guidance on means for addressing land use planning to improve road safety.

Professor Sharma, Mr Bahadur and Ms Yashi Tandon are the authors of this paper.

The last prize to be awarded is in recognition of **sustainable development**. The prize aims to promote professional excellence in scientific and technical fields addressing the issue of sustainable development in relation to roads and road transport. This prize is sponsored by Korea.

The winner of the Sustainable development prize is awarded to the paper titled, "Life cycle assessment through a comprehensive sustainability framework: a case study of urban transportation vehicles", from the United States and Greece.

The jury considered that this paper reflected the intent of the prize through the unique approach of measuring the life cycle of vehicles in enable sustainable transport planning.

Mr Mitropoulous and Mr Prevedouros of the United States and Ms Nathanail of Greece are the authors of this paper.

Unfortunately there were no suitable papers for *Roads and Intermodality* prize sponsored by France so this prize is not awarded.

This concludes the award ceremony. All the authors will be presenting their papers at a special session tomorrow morning in this same room. I invite you to attend this session and hear more about these very interesting and innovative papers.